After two layoffs, a must-do list to get back in the game

As more headlines discuss layoffs in our post-COVID world, coupled with record-setting inflation and a looming recession, I recalled the two times I was laid-off in my career. In February 2017, I found myself in my second go-round of being laid off and pursuing full-time work. My first layoff was in 2008, at the height of the recession (especially in auto-rich Michigan, where unemployment hit more than 14%!)

In 2017, I put together seven takeaways that you might be able to apply to your current situation.

  1. Never underestimate volunteering or part-time work. I was very fortunate to land part-time, contract work for 10 weeks, right after my layoff, with a metro-Detroit public relations firm. It was a contract position, while a lead was on maternity leave, and the income really helped cushion the blow that came in the spring. Also, volunteering with local groups kept me engaged and help expand my network.
  2. Never, ever burn bridges. I was very, very fortunate to secure severance pay and be eligible for unemployment from my previous employer. Look, people get laid off everyday. For whatever reason, you have to accept it and move on. Gone are the days of cradle to grave employment, especially in public relations. Believe you me, I’m grateful.
  3. If you are eligible for unemployment, know the process inside and out! If you receive unemployment, it is up to you to do all the necessary reading and fill out all the paperwork. And it’s something you won’t likely have a lot of time to review. Ask questions, use the job search opportunities, and document everything!
  4. Prepare for curve balls! See number 3? Well, I was a victim of identity theft through my unemployment filing in 2017. Someone siphoned off four weeks of my unemployment, even before I started collecting it. It was sent through an online bank going to a different account and ultimately onto debit cards. It took patience to get my name cleared and restart my unemployment filing.
  5. Let your networks know you are unemployed. Don’t hide it. Let your circle of friends know you are looking for work. There’s no shame in it. Everyone loses a job sometimes. That one person you mentioned it to, might know two more people, who could introduce to you yet two more people and so on and so on!
  6. Depend on the kindness of strangers (and friends!) On two separate occasions, grocery gift cards showed up in our mailbox. Believe me, they helped us get by. I plan to do the same to others I know in situations. And my friends, acquaintances, and former co-workers were great, reaching out to me, taking me to lunch, asking how I was doing. I’m humbled, I really am!
  7. Keep the faith. It’s hard! Finding work is HARD! Online applications have all sorts of quirks and I lost apps on more than one occasion after 30 minutes of filling out 15 screens. Get a notebook, write down all the pertinent info (website, log-in, job, date applied), so you can keep track. Also, DON’T MAKE FINDING WORK A 40-HOUR A WEEK VENTURE. Take a Tuesday afternoon off to read, take a walk, yell in the car, but, in the end, know you will get back. Pray, meditate, reflect, whatever it takes. You will make it!

5 MORE TIPS WHETHER YOU ARE IN THE HUNT OR QUICKLY LANDED THAT NEW ROLE

IN THE HUNT?

8. Get to the library! Your local library is a great resource for self-help books, literature/magazines in your field of work, databases and more. And don’t go online looking for information. Make it an outing. Your librarian can be a great resource, too!

9. Learn a new skill, even if it’s not in your wheelhouse, but something that could be transferable to your career.  How about a podcast or starting a blog on French cooking? Learning the technical aspects of a communications tool can be a great asset on your resume!

10. Take a close look at your resume. Is it effective? Does it need some editing or an overhaul? There are many examples of new layouts available online. A little sprucing up can help!

11. Are you social? No, not at cocktail parties, but online! How does your Facebook and LinkedIn account look? All on the up-and-up? Invest a bit of time and make sure you have a good clear headshot for LinkedIn. Nothing screams “I don’t care” if you have LinkedIn account without a headshot!

12. Breathe! Remember, it’s not a matter of if, but when! You will get back to work!

LANDED THAT NEW JOB? GREAT!

8. In your new role, identify at least two things you can bring to the table your first month on the job. Figure out a new efficiency, a way to save money or time.

9. It’s up to you to read all required new-hire documents thoroughly, even if it was covered adequately in employee orientation.

10. If you are fortunate enough to work at a company that offers any sort of 401k match, get in on it the very first pay period that it is available. Even if there isn’t a match, start putting a bit of money away to either pay towards credit cards or build up your emergency fund.

11. Ask questions, ask a lot of questions!

12. Network! But in this case, send thank you cards or emails to your network and let them know that you are back in the mix! Provide your new contact information and offer to return them the favor in networking opportunities!

13. BONUS! Now that you are back at it, reach out to any peers in your network who might need help! Paying it forward never hurts!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment